Santa Cruz Good Times

Monday
Oct 20th
Text size
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Film

Reviews and Times

Oblivion

Oblivion

         Hollywood's love affair with the post-apocalyptic future of Earth continues in Oblivion. Co-written and directed by Joseph Kosinski, adapted from his own graphic novel, the story gives us a devastated landscape that used to be New York City, a human worker bee who survived the holocaust with a thirst for history, and has begun to question his mission, and a lot of really cool high-tech CGI machines that pivot around in mid-air and shoot from all directions. (No surprise that Kosinski's last film was the video-centric TRON: Legacy.)

Read more...
Reviews and Times

Wonder Con

Wonder Con

Malick's latest 'To the Wonder'  a halfhearted sketch of rehashed dynamics

You could never accuse filmmaker and master craftsman Terrence Malick of oversaturating the marketplace. There's never been any less than a five-year interval between the six films he's made in the last 40 years (and usually much longer)—until now. Hot on the sprockets of The Tree of Life, from 2011, comes Malick's latest, To The Wonder. And now we know once and for all why he should never, ever be rushed.

Read more...
Reviews and Times

Film, Times & Events: Week of Apr. 18, 2013

Film, Times & Events: Week of Apr. 18, 2013

Films This Week
Check out the movies playing around town.
With: Reviews,
Movie Times click here.
Santa Cruz area movie theaters >

Read more...
Reviews and Times

‘Sapphires’ Shines

‘Sapphires’ Shines

Gals from Down Under turn heads playing unlikely crooners, but ‘The Sapphires’ wins points for its sizzle and originality

Four Aboriginal women morph into The Supremes Down Under in The Sapphires, but it’s not the festive music or passionate singing that makes this film the precious little gem it is. It’s the acting and the writing. And that’s downright refreshing considering the majority of mind-numbing productions that come out of Hollywood these days.

The good news is that The Sapphires isn’t “Hollywood” at all.

Read more...
Reviews and Times

Film, Times & Events: Week of Apr. 11, 2013

Film, Times & Events: Week of Apr. 11, 2013

Films This Week
Check out the movies playing around town.
With: Reviews,
Movie Times click here.
Santa Cruz area movie theaters >

Read more...
Reviews and Times

Anime Of the People

Anime Of the People

Miyazaki craftsmanship tells small-scale story in 'Poppy Hill'

The latest from Japanese anime master Hayao Miyazaki's famed Studio Ghibli is From Up On Poppy Hill. Directed by Goro Miyazaki, the maestro's son, it's an unusual outing for Ghibli in that the story features no overt eco-advocacy message nor any magical, otherworldly elements like gods, demons, or witches. Instead, it's a simply-told tale of two Yokohama teenagers facing life-sized issues of identity, loss, and love in the real world.

Read more...
Reviews and Times

Film, Times & Events: Week of Apr. 04, 2013

Film, Times & Events: Week of Apr. 04, 2013

Films This Week
Check out the movies playing around town.
With: Reviews,
Movie Times click here.
Santa Cruz area movie theaters >

Read more...
Reviews and Times

Opposites Attract

Opposites Attract

Love vs. gravity in charming, implausible sci-fi romance, 'Upside Down'

If Upside Down were in print, it would be an outline, not a complete novel. The grand sweep of the story is there, the big, climactic scenes are all plotted out exactly where they should be, and marvelous, fanciful, poetic images decorate key passages. What's missing from Juan Solanas' ambitious, interplanetary sci-fi romance are the details—the solid conceptual underpinning that would make it all plausible, and a final polish on the dialogue that would bring the characters and their unique story to life.

Read more...
Reviews and Times

Wild Things

Wild Things

Authentic girls' voices highlight coming-of-age drama 'Ginger & Rosa'

Just in time for the end of Women's History Month comes Sally Potter's thoughtful and involving Ginger & Rosa. Very much a "woman's movie," with its emotional, relationship-driven storyline, it also has a distinct historical setting—London in 1962, during the Cuban Missile Crisis—as the backdrop before which its two teenage protagonists struggle to come of age. And while the plot may seem a bit far-fetched at times, there's something so touching about the authenticity of these young female voices and their nameless, formless yearning that will speak to anyone who has ever been a 17-year-old girl.

Read more...
Reviews and Times

Film, Times & Events: Week of Mar. 28th, 2013

Film, Times & Events: Week of Mar. 28th, 2013

Films This Week
Check out the movies playing around town.
With: Reviews,
Movie Times click here.
Santa Cruz area movie theaters >

Read more...
 
Page 17 of 67

Share this on your social networks

Bookmark and Share

Share this

Bookmark and Share

 

Field Work

Santa Cruz Mountain winemakers explain how the harvest works, and what kind of wine to expect from this year's crop

 

Libra's Two Choices

Libra (our last week) is the sign of creating right relations and values. In Libra we are asked to choose how to be, our identity in the world. We can maintain a hermetic sealed-off attitude (my life, my work, my money, etc.) or we can gain knowledge of world events and learn more about those in need. Libra is a group sign—self with others. Here are some events occurring in our world this week concerning food, poverty, spirituality, values and global realities. The UN (a spiritual experiment) each month places a “light” upon world problems. This week a light shines on Rural Women, Farms, Food & Poverty. Before we choose to respond we must have knowledge. “So we can each do our part.” Oct. 15 - International Day of Rural Women (unrecognized with few resources); Oct. 16 - World Food Day & Family Farming: Feeding the World, Caring for the Earth; Oct. 17 - Eradication of Poverty Day (international). During the month of Libra (with Saturn exalted), we pause, contemplate and assess what it is we know, don’t know, and need to know. Libra receives and distributes Ray 3 of divine intelligence, right relations, right choice and right economy (Venus). Use your intelligence “tips the Libran scales” in terms of being able to see and then choose between the two paths Libra offers (return to the past or step forward into Scorpio’s Discipleship). Libra (the oscillating light) prepares us for the great tests and conflicts in Scorpio. In Libra we are subtly tested as we learn the nature of polarized energies (s/he loves me, s/he loves me not). In Libra we learn more about ourselves through others. Libra’s Ray 3 asks us to become more adaptable and skillful. And then we are to teach each other what we know. In Libra, we all become teachers. In all these ways love is cultivated.

 

The New Tech Nexus

Community leaders in science and technology unite to form web-based networking program

 

Docs Without Borders

United Nations Association Film Festival showcases documentaries from around the globe
Sign up for Good Times weekly newsletter
Get the latest news, events

RSS Feed Burner

 Subscribe in a reader

Latest Comments

 

Nut Kreations

Co-owner Craig Olsen goes nuts over nuts

 

What artist or artists participating in the encore weekend of Open Studios should not be missed?

Santa Cruz | Teacher

 

Martin Ranch Winery

Friends who are wine club members of Martin Ranch invited us to the winery’s fun and festive annual barbecue, where the wine is flowing and the food just keeps on coming. Music and dancing are part and parcel of the action, and a good time is guaranteed.

 

Beer Bus

Santa Cruz’s new Brew Cruz, award winning ales, mole by el Jardín, and Wildcat Ridge Chardonnay